Paleo Nut Butter Brownie Bar

27 Aug

flour-free-peanut-butter-bars

This recipe changed my life. Seriously…since learning my body can’t tolerate any type of grains, I thought my days of fluffy, melt in your mouth sweets were over. Then I came across this baby. It has no added sugar or flour and yet it still tastes like a freakin brownie! It’s amazing. Obviously it’s not going to be like cheesecake factory amazing or cupcake a la mode amazing, but come on, for Paleo it’s pretty damn good πŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 cups almond butter
3/4 cup honey
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

Mix the nut butter, honey, eggs, vanilla, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl. Be sure to really mix the ingredients well, since chunks of egg or baking soda could easily hide behind the nut butter.

Bake in a 9×13 dish at 300 F degrees for 25 minutes, until the edges start to turn golden brown for a bar texture. If you are looking for more of a thicker, gooey brownie texture, bake in a 8×8 brownie dish for 35 minutes or so or until edges are golden and toothpick comes out clean. Β I always make this recipe in the brownie dish, because it is beyond amazing.

Original recipe adapted from Salted Paleo.

5 Responses to “Paleo Nut Butter Brownie Bar”

  1. urbanpaleochef August 27, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    This is a good one!
    As an alternate version: You could add some sweet potato instead of some of the almond butter. It’s be a hit!

    • thechiseledchick August 27, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you! I will try that for sure. I am actually getting ready to make these again today. They don’t seem to last very long once my kids get home πŸ˜‰

      • urbanpaleochef August 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

        I’m not sure they would last very long BEFORE the kids get home!! πŸ™‚

      • thechiseledchick August 27, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

        LOL! You are right…I have to be honest, I def. do my fair share of helping these disappear!

  2. kirisyko August 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    Reblogged this on Sykose Extreme Sports News and commented:
    Nom nom

Leave a Reply

